CALENDAR – ISF – International Skyrunning Federation


Introducing the events

Since the first extreme races in 1992, the first World Championship in 1998 and the introduction of the Skyrunner® World Series in 2003, skyrunning has grown to become a globally renowned sport governed by the International Skyrunning Federation. Recently National Series and Continental Championships were introduced. The sport is practised in more than 40 nations and counts followers from 126 countries.


The biennial Skyrunning World Championships were held in 2016 on July 22-24 in the Spanish Pyrenees in a magnificent natural setting. Athletes from 40 countries participated in the three events where world titles, medals and cash prizes were awarded. Read more…

The Skyrunner® World Series was launched in 2004 and has grown to represent the peak of outdoor running defined by altitude and technicality. In 2017 the Series comprises three disciplines: Sky Classic, Sky Extreme and Sky Ultra, featuring 23 races in 19 venues on three continents.


The Skyrunner® National Series were introduced in 2014 and today are held in 18 countries. The concept is based on the same principle as the World Series with a circuit of three disciplines, Sky, Ultra and Vertical, awarding titles and prizes at the finals.


The Skyrunning Continental Championships were introduced in 2015 in addition to the European Championships to further globalise the sport and give the opportunity to new nations to race on their own continent. The Championships included Europe, North America, Africa, Asia and Oceania.


The Vertical Kilometer® World Circuit has been created in 2017 as a spin-off from  the long standing Skyrunner® World Series. It is governed by the rules and regulations of the International Skyrunning Federation (ISF). The circuit was designed to celebrate the Vertical Kilometer® in as many races as possible worldwide.

ISF new logo

2016 Youth Skurunning World Championships

Gran Sasso SkyRace® & Vertical Kilometer®, Aquila, Italy – July 29-31

July 29, 2016: Vertical Kilometer®, 3.5 km reaching 2,000m altitude. July 31, 2016: SkyRace®, 21.6 km, maximum altitude 2,533m with 2,226m vertical climb. Categories: Youth A (16-17), Youth B (18-20) and U23 (21-23).
Results, ranking and news here

From the world’s highest mountains to the world’s tallest buildings, vertical running falls under the auspices of the ISF. Since 2009, annual Vertical World Circuit unites iconic skyscrapers in a circuit awarding world titles and cash prizes. The 2016 ranking is based on five out of nine races.