Close this search box.

2024 SkySnow World Championships general rules

SkySnow World Championships rules

  1. The SkySnow World Championships are held every two years
  2. RACES – At least two main disciplines will be held: VERTICAL and CLASSIC
  3. The selected races must be ISF Certified Courses.
  4. ENTRIES – SkySnow World Championships are open only to official national teams. All athletes participating in the Championships must be selected by their National Member. Only one team per nation is allowed
  5. National teams from countries without ISF membership may participate at the discretion of the ISF Board. A registration fee set by the ISF is payable. The ISF rules and regulations must be strictly adhered to
  6. REGISTRATION – All team members must be of the nationality of the country they represent. Skyrunners with dual nationality must select one nationality to represent at the beginning of each season. Skyrunners who have previously represented another country in World or Continental Championships or in World or National Series recognised by the ISF, may represent their new country provided that at least three years have passed since they last represented their former country. This period may be reduced or cancelled, with the agreement of the ISF and the national federations concerned
  7. NATIONAL TEAMS – Every National Member can select a maximum of six participants for each discipline, with a maximum of 12 participants per team
  8. FINAL LIST – National Team members must be declared on the relevant ISF form one month prior to the Championships. The list can be updated only for registering new members 10 days before each race at the latest
  9. TITLES – At the conclusion of the Championships the first male and female competitors in each race are declared “World Champion”
  10. AWARDS – At the conclusion of each race, the first three ranked men and women in each category will receive, in order, gold, silver and bronze medals per discipline
  11. INDIVIDUAL POINTS SYSTEM – Each race will assign points based on the winning men’s/women’s results according to the following breakdown: 100-88-78-72-68-66-64-62-60-58-56-54-52-50 down to 2 points and down to the 40th position for men and women
  12. NATIONAL TEAMS POINTS SYSTEM – A team ranking system will be adopted based on the individual points accrued by the top four athletes (at least one per gender) in each discipline disputed in that Championship. In case of a tie, the team with the highest number of finishers will be considered
  13. COMBINED TITLES – The Combined title is based on the results accrued by a runner in both the Vertical and Classic disciplines. The athlete with the highest cumulative points’ sum will be declared the Combined Champion. In case of a tie, the best position in the SKY discipline is considered.
    1. Micro-crampons are compulsory. Allowed micro-crampons must have at least 10 metal 8/10mm spikes distributed between toe and heel. Shoes with incorporated crampons are allowed provided they have at least 10 metal 8/10mm spikes. Any other type of shoe is forbidden (athletic tartan spike shoes, football shoes), or mountain crampons
    2. Compulsory equipment:
      • long-sleeved thermal shirt, long-sleeved waterproof jacket with hood, ankle-length thermal tights, gloves and hat
      • Sunglasses during daylight
      • Front light and rear red light (with spare batteries) during darkness
      • Thermal or survival blanket
      • Mobile phone turned on with sufficient battery